Magic Mouse


Hi everybody,

Today i will post something about that something that we use every day. I present you the “Magic Mouse”.

Apple’s Magic Mouse: Ergonomics

At first glance, the Magic Mouse’s shape and size seem odd for a mouse. Most mice are bulbous, to conform to the shape of the user’s palm. The Magic Mouse instead has a surface that defines a gentle arc, and its height at mid-point is barely more than half an inch, which ensures that resting a palm on the Magic Mouse is a feat to be performed only by children or adults with very small hands.

The more natural way to use the Magic Mouse is to grip its sides between your thumb and pinkie, rest your index and middle fingers against the top edge of the mouse, and the base of your palm against the bottom edge. In doing so, your hand rests above the mouse without your palm ever touching the Multi-Touch surface. This mouse grip is actually pretty automatic, and leaves the index and middle finger ready to perform clicks and most gestures without the need to reposition your hand.

Apple’s Magic Mouse: Two-Finger Gestures

Where Magic Mouse gestures become less than intuitive is the two-finger swipe. This gesture, usually performed with the index and middle fingers, is identical to the standard one-finger side-to-side scroll, except that you use two fingers instead of one. What makes it more difficult? First, both fingers must be in contact with the Magic Mouse’s surface when you perform the swipe. For me, at least, this means I have to modify the way I grip the mouse in order to perform this gesture. When I use the swipe, the Magic Mouse and I have a difference of opinion about what I’m trying to do. Most times the mouse will register the correct swipe motion, but it ignores me enough times, as if I haven’t done anything, to be more than a little frustrating. This is probably the result of the difficulty I have keeping both fingers in contact with the surface for a side-to-side swipe. It’s just not a natural motion to perform while maintaining a grip on the mouse. On the other hand, if I use the two-finger swipe without holding onto the Magic Mouse, it works the way it should, every time. This is fine for moving page by page through large documents or photo galleries, but it’s pretty useless for the frequently used forward and back commands in web browsers and Finder windows. That’s a pity, because I constantly use forward and back commands. While I’m happy to see the Magic Mouse swipe support these commands, the difficulty of performing a two-finger swipe while maintaining a usable grip on the mouse is a chore

Apple’s Magic Mouse: Conclusion

The Mouse preference pane offers the option to pair the Magic Mouse with your Mac.

The Magic Mouse is one of the better mice Apple has ever made, but it does have some flaws, which is to be expected for the first generation of a new product. For me, the difficulty of performing the two-finger swipe was a letdown. It’s a problem that Apple could easily resolve by adding some basic gesture customization capabilities to the Magic Mouse. If I could reassign the side-to-side scroll, which I’ve never used in any mouse, to the forward and back functions, which I use constantly, I would be a happy camper. Or, if I could create a vertical two-finger swipe, which my less-than-nimble fingers can perform with ease, then the Magic Mouse would be an ideal mouse for me.

 

Thanks and see you soon

Vlad Precup

3 thoughts on “Magic Mouse

  1. Hiya, I am really glad I’ve found this info. Today bloggers publish only about gossips and internet and this is really annoying. A good website with interesting content, that’s what I need. Thanks for keeping this website, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can’t find it.

    Like

Thanks for following

